News Flash

Home - Carousel

Posted on: December 15, 2021

2021 Pioneer Award Honoree Will Ziegler

Will Ziegler poses with his proclamation with members of the Fiscal Court.

At its Fiscal Court meeting this week, Kenton County recognized 2021 Pioneer Award honoree Will Ziegler for his outstanding commitment to the community. 

Will Ziegler’s many accomplishments included contributing his time and energy toward the formation and construction of the Northern Kentucky Convention Center in Covington. Mr. Ziegler was also instrumental in the formation of NorthKey to help provide mental health services throughout the eight-county region of Northern Kentucky.

Mr. Ziegler worked with R.C. Durr for over forty years and helped form The R.C. Durr Foundation in 1993.  Mr. Ziegler served as a member of its Board of Directors and, upon the death of R.C. Durr on May 21, 2007, he was elected President of the Board of Directors and currently serves as the President of the Foundation.   Mr. Ziegler also spent approximately 60 years as the Greater Cincinnati/Northern Kentucky International Airport’s General Counsel, and over 20 years as the City Attorney for Ft. Mitchell.

He was an officer and director of the Northern Kentucky Industrial Foundation, a non-profit organization that brought over 1,000 acres of industrial development to Kenton and Boone Counties.

Will Ziegler’s leadership on the many boards that he has served in the community, and the organizations he represents shows his passion for helping others. 

The Kenton County Pioneer Award honors living residents of Kenton County who have a record of outstanding service to the community and exemplify the highest standards of personal integrity.  The Pioneer Award honors those who demonstrate servant leadership combined with awareness of the needs of fellow residents.

The Kenton County Ethics Commission reviews nominations, identifies four deserving individuals, and forwards their names to the Kenton County Fiscal Court. 

The 2021 Kenton County Pioneer Award honorees are Wilbert Ziegler, Ray Hebert, Ken Harper, and Mark Guilfoyle. Past Pioneer Award recipients include Ralph Drees, Mer Grayson, Robert Hoffer, Kim Kitchen, Parker William, Ed Schroeder, Jim Claypool, Mary Hulefeld, Rick Hulefeld, John Salyers, Bill Goetz, Burr Travis, William Funke, Garren Colvin and Arnold Simpson. 

Facebook Twitter Email

Other News in Home - Carousel

Middleton-Mills Park Shelter House

Shelter House Reservations - 2022 Season

Posted on: January 11, 2022
Kentucky Veterans Hall of Fame Memorial

Kentucky Veterans Hall of Fame Memorial

Posted on: December 30, 2021
Bundle of holiday lights.

Now That's a Bright Idea!

Posted on: December 1, 2021
Kenton County Officers pose for a photo.

Now Hiring: Lateral Police Officers

Posted on: August 16, 2021